top of page

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child


Author : J.K. Rowling Pages : 330 Rating : ★★ Recommended : Only for readers blindly in love with Harry Potter!​

Summary

How often has this happened when your favorite book is converted into a movie, and you don’t like it as the movie leaves out a lot of scenes and is not able to properly show the full strength of characters and their thought process. This is worse as this is a movie converted into a book and thus there is not even good background story to take and picturize. Their is no depth to the characters. Ron has almost no part. It would have been better if he was not there. Albus Potter and Scorpious Malfoy are playing with the time turner as if it’s a hide and seek game. A lot of potholes in the script and the only moral of the story is, let the past be past. Don’t go back and change it. Similarly, Harry Potter and the Wizarding world has been very well described in first seven books. Let it stop there. The two stars are mostly for the earlier Harry Potter books which came into mind while reading this one.


3rd August, 2016


With everyone standing in queues to lay their hand on Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, I ordered my copy on Amazon and I must say the cover is awesome. It’s a hardcover which I usually like and the bright color goes with my already existing collection of the earlier box set series. I had already read on the Amazon, that the book is a script but still I was a bit surprised and slightly taken aback with all the scenes described. My mind somehow refused to take it as an actual book.

But all the concerns went away, the moment I started reading and I started liking the script book.

The book starts with King Cross station where Albus is scared and ready to go to Hogwarts for his first year. His insecurities are fueled by his elder brother James who is already a senior in Hogwarts. Being Harry’s and Ginny’s son, he is afraid of Slytherin house and as the cursed fate will have it, Sorting hat actually places him in Slytherin and everyone starts comparing him to his famous father, Harry Potter.

The pressure of being son of a famous father is taking its toll on Albus and let’s read ahead to see how this pressure alters his life.


4th August, 2016


“The truth is a beautiful and terrible thing, and should therefore be treated with great caution.” Pg 51


I have just completed part 1 of the book and not a lot has happened till now apart from the fact that the time turner has a major important role in the script. Scorpious Malfoy and Albus Potter are outcasts in Hogwarts just to make things interesting, I guess, because I couldn’t think of any other reason, they steal the time turner and go back in the Triwizard Tournament to save Cedric Diggory. The first time they try, they fail because Cedric is still dead and the present has changed considerably, so they go back again but this time worse happens.


5th August, 2016


“Sometimes costs are made to be borne.”

Without revealing the plot, Albus and Scorpious finally manage to revert back the whole time turner drama and current situation is normal now. They even agree that Cedric’ death was probably for the best and let him be a martyr. But they are not able to convince their third partner in crime, who still wants to save Cedric and again goes back to the past to change the Future.

6th August, 2016

“Harry, there is never a perfect answer in this messy, emotional world. Perfection is beyond the reach of humankind, beyond the reach of magic. In every shining moment of happiness is that drop of poison: the knowledge that pain will come again. Be honest to those you love, show your pain. To suffer is as human as to breathe.”

The above lines are the only good thing in Act four which has lot of confusion regarding time turner and I wish time turner will take me back and stop me from buying this book and ruining my Harry Potter memories.


Till then, Happy Reading :)


P.S. I don’t feel that I have been cheated and J.K. Rowling owes me a book. I just feel that if you didn’t have content, why did you even bother to write the 8th part/script?


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page