top of page

The Woman In The Window


Title : The Woman in the Window Author : A. J. Finn Pages : 427 Rating : ★★★ Recommended : For Gone Girl / The Girl on the Train fans or thriller lovers​​!

Summary

“I have a feeling that inside you somewhere, there’s something nobody knows about. — Shadow of a Doubt (1943)”


A friend gave a short review that there is a woman and she can’t go outside and thus, she peeks and snoops at other people from the window in her house. The plot seemed interesting and well here I am writing a review for this book.


The initial quote itself seemed interesting to me and when I started reading, I ended up reading 100 pages in a go and had to leave the book only because it was getting quite late otherwise it’s a book to be read in a single sitting and preferable while drinking wine to keep pace with the protagonist. The book is quite fast-paced, has interesting characters and even though I could predict the ending, there were nevertheless good twists in between which I definitely couldn’t predict.


Dr Anna Fox has agoraphobia (anxiety disorder characterized by the irrational fear of entering open or crowded places) and is thus confined to her 3 floor house. Her daily life consists of watching classic movies, drinking wine (bottles of them), learning French online, playing chess and quite obviously, spying on her neighbors.

Everything is going well or as well as it can be for someone who can’t go outside, doesn’t have many friends, until something sinister happens or did it actually happen as can the words of an alcoholic be trusted? Read the book to know more.


Random trivia

When I Googled The Woman in the Window, one of the top links was that there is an upcoming movie based on this book and the fact itself wasn’t surprising as other similar books The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl are already converted into movies and I am sure this will be a movie worth watching (assuming the characters do justice). This fact made me further happy as in my2019 book reading challenge, I had to read a book which is becoming a movie in 2019. So I have my first check.

And if I don’t want to die, I’ve got to start living.

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening …

A good quick read for those who love thriller fiction.


Till then, Happy Reading (:

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page